28
Jan
09

Mike’s Quest For Power; the Stance Dance Revolution

After watching, for an hour, of horse-faced Swordbastard spin around like a drunken ballerina,  I have decided to reach vast heights of power in different ways…from the shadows. And from the Blighted Isle of the Elven Kingdoms, out of the shadows walks Kitiina, the Shadow Warrior.

Oddly, she looks like my Fable character.

Oddly, she looks like my Fable character.

I made my Shadow Hunter female because the creation-screen one looked much better than the male one, and I’m really a fan of female Elves. The only male Elves I’ve played are my Blackguard here, and my Paladin on WoW.  Funnily enough, there’s actually a bit of an MMO-quote about it, from a WoW comic I read (Flintlocke’s Guide to Azeroth, read it), and it goes; “If you have to stare at something’s ass for hours on end, make it a good-looking one.” That actually makes me sound sorta sexist… but I choose classes / characters /races based on mostly aesthetics, lore, and how much I like the concept. These three things are abundant in WARhammer. Disciples of Khaine = “A Priest of the God of Murder”. Come on. Tell me that’s not awesome.

It took a bit, but once I started being able to really kill things in RvR (to the point I soloed an equal-level DoK) I fell in love with this class. The ranged sexiness, the fluidity of being able to change to melee-capable in moments…this career is as hot as a Witch Elf.  Possibly even hawter.

Bloody Corset, for a Witch Elf. There's nothing there I don't like.

Bloody Corset, for a Witch Elf. There's nothing there I don't like.

Anyways, enough drooling over the erotic polygons, we have some Shadow Warrioring to do! Be forewarned, this isn’t as much of a Quest Log as a fanboy rant about how awesome Shadow Warriors are.

I’d love to do the whole “level 1 and onwards” thing, but this time I got too carried away I went from 1 to 10 in a night. I did that many PQs and scenarios that quests are nigh-upon useless to me.  I told Meteorfall to tell you all that Fightar had staged a daring raid upon Inevitable City if only to cover up the laziness wrought by this addiction to being a Shadow Warrior. However, while he did this, in my eyes he failed, the balding, smelly Orc that he is. He used to be a Troll, you know. Hasn’t come far up the evolutionary ladder.

Orcs, possibly Inbred Mud Creatures? More after these messages

Orcs, possibly Inbred Mud Creatures? More after these messages

My major “issue” with rolling Order is that I’m allied with Stunties. I mean, don’t get me wrong, one of my ingame buddies is a Stunty Engineer, but seriously, the in-built desire to punt and mock stunties has been instilled in me ever since I was a wee lad playing his first Pally on WarCrack. I’m sorry, Dwarfkind, but I find you all wholly amusing, especially when I see a Black Orc punt you across Nordenwatch. It’s fucking hilarious.  If that happens, and you see me stop moving, it’s because I’m giggling with psychotic glee, even if you happened to be the last healer in the SC.

But, then I look at it from a tactical standpoint; stunties don’t take up a lot of space, as opposed to the bigass Chaos dudes who make it impossible for me to see a frigging thing in the back row (on my Sorc).

So, Leven Ten Shadow Warrior on Dark Crag, Kitiina makes her first step into Chrace,  ready to kick ass and chew jerky. Squig jerky.  An’ I’m all outta jerky. So anyways, I’m in the guild Absolute. I haven’t interacted much with the people beyond our T1 crowd (there’s about 6-10 of us) but we kick ass. We all grouped and led the rest of the PUGs (Pick-Up Groups) through scenarios and just cut a bloody swathe of victory and win through Destruction’s ranks.

One of these was the stupidest Khaine’s Embrace I’ve ever been in. Destruction were so disorganized we had two groups taking both flags every time they opened up, with Destruction running into Khaine’s Wrath (do we fight for NOD?) every freakin’ time.  We Zerged the gate switch in Gates of Ekrund, and Destro put up a serious fight, but their only healers were that type of DoK who only heal themselves.

The Top 4 Order are from Absolute! Woo!

The Top 4 Order are from Absolute! Woo!

I’ve been playing like the Hybrid I really am, switching between Melee and Ranged. I’m getting the hang of it. Speaking of melee, I have to share this, in a Khaine’s Embrace, a Chosen, in melee range, no less, decided he’d try to kill me solely using “Throw”. You have no idea how much that amused me. It continued to amuse me until the last Spiral-Shafted Shot went through his chest and he fell down. And didn’t get back up.

And oh god, the Skirmisher Stance? I killed so many people just running rings around them…I love this class. Although I do think they could use lesser forms of dual-wield or two hand, not to make them heavy Two-Hand spankers, or Witch Elves, but to at least give their melee a lil’ more bite. Like an offhand dagger, or a bastard sword.

I just led a group in Nordenwatch to a kickass round against Destruction…it was excellent. Again, we had excellent healers, but Dark Crag’s tank shortage was made more apparent by the cold hard fact our tank was a Level 3 Knight of the Blazing Sun. Still, we had a great crew, and great healers. You know you’ve got a good healer when you’ve got a Black Orc and Black Guard wailing on you and you live to tell the tale.

But yes, this stage in My Quest for Power seems to be going well…back to it, then. For the Horde, WAAAGH, May the Force Be With You, and any other farethee’wells that you may enjoy.

PS: Yes I know Kit’s not a tank, despite the fact I had to tank a PQ yesterday. We had SEXELLENT healers. You’ll be getting other news from me, especially when I get back into playing my 35 DoK and 14 Black Guard over on Darklands. I’m the Alt Master.

7 Responses to “Mike’s Quest For Power; the Stance Dance Revolution”


  1. 1 Jim
    January 28, 2009 at 6:20 pm

    Great blog! You need an easy way to subscribe to your RSS feed.

  2. 2 meteorfall
    January 28, 2009 at 8:24 pm

    Aye I know, but I put the RSS widget in there… how do I configure it ?

  3. 3 Jim
    January 28, 2009 at 8:34 pm

    Mine just worked after I put it in. So I don’t know what configuring it needs

  4. 4 meteorfall
    January 28, 2009 at 8:40 pm

    I think I got it now, does it work for you ?

  5. 5 meteorfall
    January 28, 2009 at 8:44 pm

    Yeah… all you need to do is click on the little RSS icon and it should work now !

  6. 6 Jim
    January 28, 2009 at 9:04 pm

    Perfect works great!

  7. January 29, 2009 at 2:29 am

    Woo. I has a fan. -happy Mike-


Leave a Reply

